RSS

How to block Bittorrent/uTorrent and similar torrent (aka Peer-to-Peer Downloader)

15 May


Well.. I hate Bittorrent in some purposes since it is illegal. If you ‘lucky’ because downloaded something that covered by Copyright Act then your source IP, destination IP, downloaded time, file name, file size, duration to download, etc will be saved and kept by the Internet provider for both source and destination and you may get reported. : (

However, I browsed to some websites and noticed that Bittorrent is using port 6881-6999. What I do is block this ports. And, I am not a networking person so I don’t know about my router setting RTA1025W Rev2. Last but not least, I did block this ports for outbound and inbound traffic PLUS 9999-65535 for both TCP and UDP.

I wish this help to prevent Bittorrent, but if you know how to block this, please help me complete this article and thank you so much.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2011 in My Review

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “How to block Bittorrent/uTorrent and similar torrent (aka Peer-to-Peer Downloader)

  1. fai fai

    May 18, 2011 at 12:30 PM

    Blocking ports 6881-6889 is not going to do anything – you can use whatever ports you want.. If you want to stop them, or limit them.. then your really going to need to do layer 7 filtering..

    I would suggest you put openwrt on you wrt54g router http://openwrt.org

    And then use – http://l7-filter.sourceforge.net/

    You will then be able to limit their bandwith usage, etc.. etc..

     
    • Ferdy

      May 18, 2011 at 12:44 PM

      Mine is RTA1025W Rev2

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,026 other followers

